Leading lenders and title companies have created the first set of recommended best-practice standards for Notaries handling loan signings. These standards are called the Certified Signing Specialist Standards and form the basis of a new designation for signing professionals: the Certified Signing Specialist. That is a Notary who has met all of the elements of the standards.

The publication of the Standards is among the most significant developments to hit the loan-signing profession in years, and it will help Notaries meet the needs of nearly every firm in the real estate finance industry. In turn, Notaries will be eligible for more jobs that will help them thrive in the current market.

The Standards are comprised of five elements:

  • The Certified Signing Specialist Code of Conduct
  • Standardized signing script
  • Annual examination
  • Annual background screening
  • Notary errors and omissions insurance

For more information on the coming changes, go to: A Guide To The New Mortgage Signing Standards.